Municipalities in the Region

Municipalities in the Region


Public Administration Reform

When district administrations ceased to exist on 1 January 2003 and the powers vested in them were transferred to selected municipalities with added powers (“Level III municipalities with extended competence”), the way that public administration was exercised and organised in the Czech Republic changed substantially.

The aim was chiefly to bring government closer to the people, namely by bringing it to the municipalities with extended competence, and to decentralise decision-making; in other words, to have everything addressed as close as possible to where people live.

As of 1 January 2011, there are 300 municipalities in the Moravian Silesian Region.

Municipalities with Extended Competence (Level III)

Municipalities with extended competence carry out delegated powers in the district they administer. This involves primarily the following documents and services that residents most often use:
  • Population records
  • Issuing of travel and personal documents
  • Driving licences, vehicle registration documents and motor vehicle registrations
  • Trade licences
  • Social work addressing unfavourable social situations and social inclusion
  • The social and legal protection of children
  • Care for the old and disabled
  • Water management, waste management and environmental protection
  • Administration of state forests, hunting and fishing
  • Transportation and road management

Municipalities with Extended Competence (Level III) in the Moravian-Silesian Region:

Municipalities in the Region

  1. Bílovec
  2. Bohumín
  3. Bruntál
  4. Český Těšín
  5. Frenštát pod Radhoštěm
  6. Frýdek-Místek
  7. Frýdlant nad Ostravicí
  8. Havířov
  9. Hlučín
  10. Jablunkov
  11. Karviná
  12. Kopřivnice
  13. Kravaře
  14. Krnov
  15. Nový Jičín
  16. Odry
  17. Opava
  18. Orlová
  19. Ostrava
  20. Rýmařov
  21. Třinec
  22. Vítkov


Moravian-Silesian Region

Office hours for the public:

Mo, We:8:00 AM–5:00 PM Tu, Th:8:00 AM–2:30 PM Fr:8:00 AM–1:00 PM